PKU and the Disability Tax Credit (DTC)

  • 2021-05-13
  • 7:00 PM
  • Virtual

Registration


Register

PKU and the Disability Tax Credit (DTC) 

Time: 7pm Eastern (6pm Central time/5 pm Mountain Time/4pm Pacific time/8pm Atlantic time/830pm NL time)

PKU patients (and others with a treatable enzyme deficiency) are eligible to apply and most in clinical care will qualify for the DTC. This is due to an updated interpretation of the Income Tax Act by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), confirmed by rulings of the Tax Court of Canada. 

CanPKU is committed to working with individual patients or caregivers to make sure such spreadsheets are accurate and complete.

Although DTC approvals for those with PKU are becoming routine, occasionally there is an initial rejection by a front-line CRA reviewer, hung up on the term “diet”. CanPKU can help patients/caregivers navigate the process to a successful conclusion. We have not lost any appeal! Initial denials are becoming rare, like PKU. 

Log in
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software