Research Update - PKU and the Brain

  • 2021-05-14
  • 12:00 PM
  • Virtual

Registration


Register

Time: 12pm Eastern (11am Central time/10am Mountain Time/9am Pacific time/1pm Atlantic time/130pm NL time)

Dr. Christ and his research team  (Hayley Clocksin & Kelly Boland) will provide updates on their latest research on PKU and the brain. This will include discussion of (1) new insights into the progression of white matter changes in individuals with early-treated PKU, (2) preliminary results from their most recent study which is examining the relationship between phe levels at different times in development and the effects on both gray and white matter structures in the brain, and (3) an introduction to their current study which focuses on the potential effect of elevated anxiety on cognitive performance in individuals with ETPKU.

About Dr. Christ:

Shawn Christ, PhD, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Psychological Sciences, MRI Director at the Cognitive Neuroscience Systems (CNS) Core Facility, and adjunct professor at the Thompson Center for Autism and Neurodevelopmental Disorders at the University of Missouri. Dr. Christ has a strong record of publication (over 60 peer reviewed papers) in the area of pediatric neuropsychology.  He has previously been named a MU Thompson Center Research Scholar and received the MU Department of Psychological Sciences Max Meyer Outstanding Junior Faculty Research Award.  Dr. Christ has a history of extensive internally and externally funded research support (e.g., National Institutes of Mental Health, Department of Defense, NPKUA, BioMarin Pharmaceutical Inc., Autism Speaks Foundation). Research in Dr. Christ’s laboratory centers on the development of cognitive abilities in children with PKU and other neurodevelopmental disorders (e.g., autism) as well as the neurocognitive changes associated with pharmaceutical and behavioral interventions in these populations.  Some of Dr. Christ’s most recent work has focused on behavioral and brain improvements associated with treatment in individuals with PKU.

REMINDERS:
TIME ZONE IS SET FOR EASTERN. Please adjust accordingly.
In order to register you must have EITHER a current MEMBERSHIP or a Complimentary WEBINAR PASS. Both are available on our Membership Page.
The registration form has LOTS of questions in it. Name and email are mandatory. The rest are optional but will provide more content for your profile if you wish.
This webinar is being offered in ENGLISH.

Log in
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software